How to download and use translation files

Where to download translations

Main method: Direct download

You can download all the necessary files for each language from the translations page.

Simply click the corresponding button for the language that you want, and then unzip the file on the root (main folder) of your project.


Alternative method: Download and compile from Transifex.

To use a translation, you must have the compiled .mo files of a language, which are generated using a file with the .po extension.

These .po files can be downloaded from the project page on Transifex.

Once you have them, you must place each one on the corresponding folder:

  • Main app – /lang
  • Template: Default – /templates/default/lang
  • Template: Gallery – /templates/gallery/lang
  • Template: Pinboxes – /templates/pinboxes/lang

To generate a mo file from the downloaded po resources, you need to download the small but awesome software Poedit.

With Poedit you can open the .po files. As soon as you save, the .mo file is generated automatically on the same folder as the original .po.

poedit-example

Example of poedit with the spanish file open (es.po)


How to use a new language

Once you have the required .mo files, you need to tell ProjectSend to use it.

To do it, open the file /includes/sys.config.php with a text editor of your choice.

There, find the line that reads something like this:

define(‘SITE_LANG’,’en’);

And change the value to the name of the file of your language minus the file extension.

For example, if you want to use the French language, change it to

define(‘SITE_LANG’,’fr’);

If your language is localized, like in the case of Portuguese (which has the Brazil and Portugal variations), be sure to include the full name. For example, for Portuguese (Brazil), use

┬ádefine(‘SITE_LANG’,’pt_BR’);


That’s it! The next page you load should be in your new language.

Important: The log in form contains a “Select language” field to customize the experience for you. If you have selected a different language than the default one, you will continue to see the site using your selected option even if the default value is modified until you log out and in again.

Top